My plotting seems slow

• I finally decided to build a dedicated plotter so i could have my pc back. It's a Ryzen 1700 with 16 GB of ram. But it takes about 23 hours to plot 1 TB using xplotter at about 18000 nonces/min. So the External 8 TB drive that I'm plotting now will take just under 8 days.
    Is that normal?
    How long does it take you to plot?
    How can I make it faster without using GPU plotter?

• admin

@mongrel Sounds like you're using a Seagate External - they're SMR format, and a week is normal for them. If you can get an SSD, you ca plot them a lot faster using TurboPlotter

• @haitch Sorry haitch but I'm a noob.
    Can you explain in more detail please. It sounds like you just told me to get an 8TB SSD . . . I'm not rich.

• admin

@mongrel Seagate External drives are SMR - Shingled Magnetic Recording - they are really slow to plot, but fine for mining. Using an SSD - not an 8 TB one - can make the plotting faster, as SMR drives handle sequential writes fine, but are really slow on random writes, and plotting is a lot of random writes.You can plot to a fast drive, then copy to an SMR without incurring the random write SMR penalty.

• @Mongrel i am currently using a 500 gb SSD with the turbo plotter and a cpu that plots at half your rate and it takes 2 days per 8tb's

https://blackpawn.com/tp/

• @jaxblack said in My plotting seems slow:

@Mongrel i am currently using a 500 gb SSD with the turbo plotter and a cpu that plots at half your rate and it takes 2 days per 8tb's

Hi jaxblack. Does turbo plotter plot straight to PoC2 or do you have to convert after? And does the size of the ssd make much differance to plotting time?